(H.C.R.307)

Offered by: Representatives Masland of Thetford and Briglin of Thetford

Offered by: Senators Clarkson, McCormack, and Nitka

R-381

2018

<u>Whereas</u>, in the 16-year history of Sharon Academy's boys' basketball, the closest the Phoenix had progressed to capturing the divisional crown was an admirable performance in the 2015 championship game, and

<u>Whereas</u>, a new opportunity arose this winter as the Phoenix remained undefeated at the conclusion of regular season play, and this stellar team earned a second seed in the Division IV playoffs, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Sharon Academy's carefully crafted and executed playing strategy continued unabated as the Phoenix earned a coveted berth in the decisive Division IV contest at the Barre Auditorium, where defeating the top-seeded Danville Indians stood as the final hurdle to securing the 2018 Division IV title, and

<u>Whereas</u>, from the opening tip-off, the Phoenix largely commanded the court, leading 28–26 at halftime, despite a brief 23–all tie; and although late in the fourth quarter the Indians momentarily surged ahead 56–55, Sharon Academy immediately rebounded for a thrilling 60–56 victory, clinching its first Division IV championship, and

<u>Whereas</u>, the Phoenix, who concluded the season with a 24–0 perfect record, consisted of Austin Gaudette, Josh Amodeo, Sam Knoerlein, Scott Elderd, Koltin Leduc, Jack DiGuiseppe, Jackson Bradford, Fisher Kelly, Olly Skeet-Browning, and Cole Ward, and

<u>Whereas</u>, partially in recognition of Sharon's phenomenal season, the Vermont Basketball Coaches Association named Head Coach Blake Fabrikant as the 2018 Division IV Coach of the Year, and

<u>Whereas</u>, Head Coach Blake Fabrikant, assistant coach Ben Phipps, and team managers Cal Hale, Aidian Trimble, Erin Shands, and Jasmin Johnson were all delighted with the Phoenix's great achievement, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly congratulates the 2018 Sharon Academy Phoenix Division IV championship boys' basketball team, and be it further

<u>Resolved</u>: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Sharon Academy.